Mail Order
Policies & Shipping
New Releases Newly Added On Sale Overstock Combo Packs Everything
Atmospheric Space Desert-Ambient Pure Electronic Healing Arts Tribal-Ambient Compilations
Timeroom Editions Infinite Soundworlds Didgeridoo Kindred Spirits Other Artists Various Artists
Vinyl Cassettes Posters DVD's Miscellaneous Apps   Timeroom Editions  Projekt
Welcome to our online store! Thanks for your direct support, which enables the continued growth of uncompromised music. Steve will autograph his CD's by request, at no extra charge (subject to availability). All items shown are in-stock, and ship directly from Steve's house in the Sonoran desert. We accept major credit cards, PayPal, personal checks, and more; see the Policies & Shipping page for details and shipping rates.
Show Details:  

The Surreal Sanctuary / The Contemporary Nocturne

CD $17.00
The Surreal Sanctuary / The Contemporary Nocturne
Vidna Obmana (with Steve Roach)
2019 Zoharum ZOH00172 (CD)

Originally released in 2000 on the Hypnos label. Both albums include guest appearances by Steve Roach, Jim Cole and Joris De Backer. Remastered and with all-new artwork in an 8-panel Digipak, strictly limited to 400 copies — we have 30 of these.

THE SURREAL SANCTUARY and THE CONTEMPORARY NOCTURNE, both recorded about 20 years ago, are very distinctive albums showcasing Vidna Obmana's wilfulness on how far he wanted to stretch his personal take on ambient and minimalism. Featuring guest appearances by overtone singer Jim Cole, double bass musician Joris De Backer and Vidna's frequent collaborator and comrade Steve Roach, the music is constructed through extensive use of recycling, performances on the fujara and electric guitar. Perfect for late evening listening and headphone immersion.

Considered to be two parts of one story, now united and respectfully re-issued by Poland's Zoharum label in a stunning package. With new photography by Martina Verhoeven, the music on these two albums has been remastered from the original DAT tapes.

Disc 1
1. InfinityMP35:02 
2. LamentationMP36:59 
3. The First CoilMP38:40 
4. The Profound IsolatesMP39:27 
5. Jewel of the UndergroundMP37:43 
6. The Fragmented DomeMP317:28 
7. FlameMP313:59 
Disc 2
1. DuelMP31:56 
2. Chasing the OdysseeMP310:31 
3. A Platform of SorrowMP35:58 
4. The Gaze in DissonanceMP33:22 
5. Mute GriefMP36:50 
6. RevelationMP39:51 
7. The Path DownwardsMP319:06 
8. InfinityMP314:36 

Steve Roach News Music Discography Live Press Reviews Store Links Bio Contact