Mail Order
Policies & Shipping
New Releases Newly Added On Sale Overstock Combo Packs Everything
Atmospheric Space Desert-Ambient Pure Electronic Healing Arts Tribal-Ambient Compilations
Timeroom Editions Infinite Soundworlds Didgeridoo Kindred Spirits Other Artists Various Artists
Vinyl Cassettes Posters DVD's Miscellaneous Apps
Bandcamp: Timeroom Editions Bandcamp: Exclusives Bandcamp: Projekt
Welcome to our online store! Thanks for your direct support, which enables the continued growth of uncompromised music. Steve will autograph his CD's by request, at no extra charge (subject to availability). All items shown are in-stock, and ship directly from Steve's house in the Sonoran desert. We accept major credit cards, PayPal, personal checks, and more; see the Policies & Shipping page for details and shipping rates.
Show Details:  

See None, Hear None, Speak None

CD out of stock
See None, Hear None, Speak None
Brian Parnham
2011 Floating Point Records FPR1111 (CD)

In his most ambitious release to date, and his first solo album of new material since 2007's MANTLE from the label, Sound craftsman Brian Parnham offers an outstanding, intense electro-acoustic-trance/ambient experience in his latest work SEE NONE, HEAR NONE, SPEAK NONE. All the stops are pulled, and he is clearly working at the top of his evolving skills as a fine-tuned artist in sound. The pieces and moods shift like storm cells over a vast auditory range of churning internal mind states. With 15 definitive tracks, this album provides the listener with a dynamic ride of electro-acoustic-tribal ambient with an edge. Thought-provoking titles offer a few angles to ponder upon as well, deeper thoughts to existential bliss and the opposite places inbetween. Find your own way and meaning into this great must-have release.

A review from John Shanahan, Hypnagogue:

In his first solo release since 2007, Brian Parnham puts forth an array of visions that, while tending more toward sources dark and tribal, also work their way into classic electronic-music forms to make for a very complete whole. SEE NONE, HEAR NONE, SPEAK NONE comes off as a well-modulated tour through Parnham's musical headspaces. The movement, from the drum-driven openers through wider ambient vistas and back, flows smoothly.

Kicking off with the title track, Parnham first hits the listener with an almost downbeat feel. Ringing metallic notes meet string pads and round-toned percussion in a cool blend. But any thoughts of this being that sort of listen (which, considering the quality of the track, would not be a bad thing at all) get tribally drummed out at the start of "Head in the Sand". This track and its followup, "Suspended Plumes", are the most heavily tribal pieces here, and they make for a mind-bending stretch. "Head..." is energetic and forceful, a very potent calling fueled by absolutely thundering percussion, a sound like ringing glass and distant snarls of didgeridoo scrape across the backdrop, all underscored by a fast sequenced line.

"Suspended Plumes" drops the pace and curls immediately into a thick, humid and slightly menacing space reminiscent of Roach and Metcalf's THE SERPENT'S LAIR. Considering Parnham's past working associations with Roach, the influence is not at all unexpected; it's merely a continuation of chemistry. The drums are even more central here, and Parnham plays with their sound, curving and warping the shapes. He deftly melts this track into "Eroding Shore" which, as he mentions on his site, he sees as something of a reprise to a track from Roach's THE MAGNIFICENT VOID. The homage is right there in the big, bold pads that rumble on the low end and a sense of spacey vastness. This is the first beatless track on the disc, and it leaves no question that Parnham can handle this type of flow, too.

There's an interesting stretch that begins with the track "Half Full". This and the two tracks that follow are very short; the longest is a shade over two minutes. They come off like vignettes of dense, building sound, brief experiments forming a tenuous bridge to the latter half of the disc. "Half Full" coils up a coarse, rippling pad that squelches into the insectile, analog tangles and slightly more open space of "Tipping Point", and then "Half Empty" roars in, sounding for all the world like big sonic buzzsaw tearing open the flimsy fabric of reality. This is just a big, savage, gut-check rip of sound at the edge of noise, and I love it. What makes this passage even more effective is the way Parnham uses them, along with a few cracks of electro-thunder, to guide us into "Business As Usual," which has not only a lighter tone, but surprises with the appearance of a guitar. There's an old-school familiarity about the tone of it that evokes the feel of a blend of Nine Inch Nails and Jarre. The low end is very Reznor; the high side is pure European electronica; the whole thing is three minutes that grabs and holds the attention.

The retro grooves continue in the big and bouncy "While We're Here", which is simply a sequencer-lover's joyride. (Need more? Forward to "Enjoy the Ride", Which I guarantee you will.) From there Parnham works back down into darker abstract spaces with the centerpiece of the disc, "1111". Fluid pads ebb through as didgeridoo lines rasp and slither across the space. This is a very deep track, energized by low-key percussion pulses and more of that skittering analog; one of the best standalone tracks I've heard in a while for pure immersion.

Didge lovers (like myself) get their payoff in "Earth Mourning" as the breathy primal tones curl around metallic clatters and an atmosphere of distinct unease. This is a very claustrophobic track, constantly and uncomfortably closing in until Parnham nudges it open with upward-moving pads. This is perhaps the most narrative track here, and Parnham plays equally well in the dark and the light.

The album winds its way to the quiet finality of "Last Breath", meditative flow marked with heartbeat pulses that, without a hint of morbidity, slow over time. It brings this superbly-made ride to a calm close. If you like Brian Parnham, SEE NONE, HEAR NONE, SPEAK NONE is a disc well worth the five-year wait. If you haven't been familiar with him until now, this is an amazing place to start.
1. See None, Hear None, Speak NoneMP34:30 
2. Head in the SandMP35:15 
3. Suspended PlumesMP36:06 
4. Eroding ShoreMP34:35 
5. Race to the SourceMP35:08 
6. Half FullMP32:03 
7. Tipping PointMP31:46 
8. Half EmptyMP31:32 
9. Business As UsualMP32:53 
10. While We're HereMP33:52 
11. 1111MP311:11 
12. Earth MourningMP36:31 
13. Enjoy the RideMP35:41 
14. Everyone Gets Their TurnMP33:37 
15. Last BreathMP36:26 

Steve Roach News Music Discography Live Press Reviews Store Links Bio Contact