AlbumsGuest AppearancesVarious ArtistsProduction CreditsVideos

Michael Shrieve appears on these releases:

The Leaving Time

Cassette out of stock
CD out of stock
Vinyl out of stock
The Leaving Time
Steve Roach, Michael Shrieve
1988 Novus / RCA 3032 (Cassette, CD, Vinyl)

This long-lost, out of print release presents a collaboration with legendary Santana drummer Michael Shrieve to present a music that has been described as "Big Screen Music". Heroic themes, driving electronic and acoustic percussion tracks, rich atmospheres and searing melodic work from David Torn create a sound that is impossible to classify, but clearly has a progressive feel in the true meaning of the word.
1. The Leaving Time 4:52 
2. March of Honor4:55 
3. San Diego 8:44 
4. Theme For The Far Away 5:07 
5. Tribes 4:57 
6. Big Sky 7:46 
7. Edge Runner 7:31 
8. The Leaving Time (Reprise) 1:15 

The Big Picture

CD out of stock
The Big Picture
Michael Shrieve, David Beal
Celestial Harmonies 17060 (CD)

For a limited time, we're offering this unique recording which was lost to many. Two of the foremost drummers of rock and new age blended their exceptional talents with the latest technology to create a landmark album. On THE BIG PICTURE, Michael Shrieve and David Beal produce fully orchestrated music using electronic drum pads and digital samplings. Through this system, a drum-pad can sound like a trumpet, violin, voice, or it can create a completely new sound. Though originally composed on computer, all the music on THE BIG PICTURE was played entirely with drumsticks. This album is a refreshing celebration of rhythm and melody. The pieces compose a dazzling menu, ranging from the exotic to the mischievous, all sharing a compelling vibrancy and excitement. THE BIG PICTURE opens a new door for percussionists. It puts the percussionist on a plane with traditional front line soloists and elevates him to orchestral arranger, with infinite combinations of sounds, timbres, rhythms, and instrumentations at his disposal.
1. The Invisible ArchitectMP35:45 
2. Mon AmieMP34:08 
3. Unspeakable DawnMP37:09 
4. IzibongoMP35:23 
5. Shaman's DrumMP35:30 
6. The Big PictureMP36:05 
7. Rocked in the Cradle of the DeepMP35:24 
8. Iron VoicesMP34:57 

Steve Roach News Music Discography Live Press Reviews Store Links Bio Contact