by David J Opdyke, AmbiEntrance
April 2002

It's no secret to frequenters of AmbiEntrance that Steve Roach is a sonic explorer of masterly quality and voluminous quantity. Here he merges several of his trademark styles into a CORE of definitive Roach-ness!

Enter through the "Way of Now" (3:50) which opens the disc on stratified soundstreams which include (but aren't limited to) breezy synthwinds, twinkling tones and stratospheric guitar twirls. The faintly sizzling currents stirred by the "Wings of Icarus" are soon empowered by percolating fractal groove patterns. Whispering and chugging in serpentine curlicues of sonic smoke, "Train of Thought" locomotes through ethereal space to zones where even-lighter clouds boil in subtle splendor.

Those gaseous whorls give way to the low, churning energies of "Resonation Revelation" which, along with organic percussive effects, spiral in an entrancing groove-circle. From a lazily spiraling vortex, excited rhythm molecules rise to rev up the "Core Meditation" (13:24) with insistent activities which veer nearer then farther away; the latter movements slow to a prehistoric pace with primeval forces all around.

Speedily sputtering impulses shoot through "Hyperportal" into wispy regions, then throb like a rapidly-strummed rubber band, eventually leveling into a fading jet-trail from which "Indigo Yearning" smears in a final wash of amorphous blurs.

Projecting neo-shamanic visions from his CORE into the airwaves, Steve Roach opens the way to his dreamtime world on 12 new pathways of sonic ritualism which encompass the ancient and the futuristic, the earthly and the supernatural. Often energetic, but never over-aggressive, these 74 minutes simultaneously stir and soothe with welcomingly familiar powers.


magnify magnify
feature  feature

Poster out of stock
CD out of stock
Steve Roach
2001 Timeroom Editions 6 (Poster, CD)
Reviewed by Hannah M.G. Shapero, Alternate Music Press, Ambient Visions, AmbiEntrance, Backroads Music, Guts of Darkness, Jungle Voodoo, MusicTAP, Sonic Curiosity, Wind and Wire

Steve's new 2001 solo release CORE has evolved into a dynamic convergence of his most essential organic, electronic, rhythmic and atmospheric elements and what could be his most elegant and powerful dynamic solo release in years. This summer has been a time of renewal as Roach turned away from all concerts, collaborations and other offers, directing the focus deep into the heart of this powerful journey, back to the core. 100% pure Steve Roach music.

An 8"x8" mini-poster of the cover artwork is also available.
1. Way of NowMP33:50 
2. Wings of IcarusMP37:40 
3. Train of ThoughtMP35:52 
4. Resonation RevelationMP36:55 
5. Core MeditationMP34:24 
6. So it Goes...MP310:06 
7. Endorphin DreamtimeMP38:09 
8. HyperportalMP311:57 
9. Indigo YearningMP34:25 

Steve Roach News Music Discography Live Press Reviews Store Links Bio Contact